Annually, the Office of Campus Involvement (OCI) hosts the Student Life & Leadership Awards where clubs and organizations are recognized in various categories, including campus programming, student organization, and campus leadership. 

The following were recognized: 

Programming Awards: 

  • Most Inclusive Program or Initiative: PRYSM’s Pride Prom 
  • Most Sustainable Program or Initiative: James H. Barrow Biological Field Station’s Apple Cider Festival 
  • Campus Program of the Year: James H. Barrow Biological Field Station’s Apple Cider Festival 

Student Organization Awards: 

  • Outstanding Student Club or Organization of the Year: Environmental Appreciation Club (EAC) 
  • New Student Organization of the Year: The Lighthouse 

Campus Leader Awards: 

  • Club Officer of the Year: Bricen Jones 
  • Organization Advisor of the Year: Dr. Hailee Yoshizaki-Gibbons 
  • Outstanding First-Year Student Leader: Alex Picoult 
  • Outstanding Second-Year Student Leader: Sadie Qualls 
  • Outstanding Third-Year Student Leader: Bricen Jones 
  • Outstanding Senior Student Leader: Julie Le-Quay 
  • Unsung Student Leader of the Year: Yue Sasaki 

Omicron Delta Kappa Induction

Additionally, two students were inducted into Omicron Delta Kappa (OΔK), the premiere Greek-letter leadership honorary that recognizes the achievements of college students in at least one of these five areas: 

  • Scholarship 
  • Athletics 
  • Community Service/Student Activities 
  • Journalism/Student Media 
  • Creative/Performing Arts 

The students inducted represent the top 35% of the sophomore, junior, and senior classes at Hiram. 

On campus, students will be responsible for engaging the larger Hiram community in at least one service and one leadership event each year. Hiram’s Circle was originally founded in 1962 and reinstated last academic year after a brief period of inactivity. 

Omicron Delta Kappa was founded on December 3, 1914, on the campus of Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia. The Society was founded by a group of 15 students and faculty who believed that scholarship alone couldn’t predict success.  

The 2024 ODK inductees include: 

  • Sadie Qualls 
  • Winnie Peters 

Ohio Campus Compact Charles J. Ping Award Recipient

Finally, AmeriCorps member, Jared Lapointe ’24, was awarded the Ohio Campus Compact Charles J. Ping Award. This award is designed to recognize and honor undergraduate students for their outstanding leadership and contributions to community service or service-learning on their campus and within their community, according to the Ohio Campus Compact. Lapointe was among other student leaders across Ohio to receive this award from the Compact. The Ohio Campus Compact Executive Director, Stephanie Dodd, was present at the Student Life & Leadership Awards ceremony to present Lapointe with the award. 

By Taylor Cook