Hiram College’s School of Health, Education, Sustainability, and Society hosted its first annual Award Ceremony to recognize outstanding students across the School for their achievements this academic year. The ceremony was opened by guest speaker, Pierra Heard ’18, assistant director of enrollment management and strategic initiatives at Case Western Reserve University.  

Department awards were given in biomedical humanities, sociology, integrative exercise science, criminal justice, and education. The Harry L. Haskins ’51 Endowed Scholarship was awarded to two education students. Finally, the psychology department inducted the 2024 class of Psi Chi scholars during the event. 

Psi Chi is a college student honor society in psychology with international outreach founded in 1929 at the University of Kansas and is one of the largest honor societies in the nation. 

Award recipients are listed below. 

Biomedical Humanities Department Awards: 

August Bales 

David Angarita 

Criminal Justice Department Awards: 

Jacob Carleton 

Donovan Mills 

Sociology Department Awards: 

Brett Johnson 

Ryan Streator 

Education Department, Harry L. Haskins ’51 Endowed Scholarship recipients: 

Rebecca Cotterman 

Kelly Hoffman 

Education Department Awards: 

Cole Bates 

Meghan Falkowski 

Amber Fox 

Faith Maloney 

Karyn Sanders 

Integrative Exercise Science Department Awards: 

Excellence in IES Award: Regina Dubeansky 

IES Most Outstanding Research Award: Abigail Bernhardt and Amanda Pittman 

IES Most Outstanding Student-Athlete Award: Jeremy Sgro 

IES Most Outstanding Service Award: Kylie Hudson 

IES Most Improved Student Award: Larissa Baeza 

Psychology Department, Psi Chi inductees: 

Brett Johnson 

Erica Kirby 

James Thomas 

Tayleigh Price 

Kacey Whistler 

Karyn Sanders 

Stephanie Travis 

Thomas Wayne Grant prize winner: 

Kacey Whistler 

Congratulations to every student in the School of Health, Education, Sustainability, and Society on their achievements throughout this academic year. 

By Taylor Cook