Student Senate

Image: Hiram student senate meeting

The Hiram College Student Senate is hereby recognized by Hiram College students as the official body for protecting student rights and interests; facilitating student participation in College policy-making; increasing the quality of students’ educational and academic experience; upholding the core values of the College in all areas of student life; facilitating communication between students and faculty, staff, and bureaucratic organizations; recognizing and funding student organizations; acting as the active link between the concerns of the Student Body and the administration; representing the student body in College Council meetings and all official college business; and striving to improve the welfare of all students.

On behalf of the Student Senate, welcome to our webpage!

Let us share with you a little part of our mission. Hiram College is its own small community: It encourages students to be active in their four years here. Student Senate is a key factor in keeping these active students busy and able. We interact not only with students but with faculty and staff, as we are the voice to the administration.

In the beginning of the fall, anyone can decide to run for Student Senate. To do so, one must run, attain signatures, and be elected by students of the college. Throughout the year, these representatives work hard to make students happy and to help our college community grow.

We want you to be a part of Hiram College’s outstanding student community, and truly make it your own. Your experience here depends on you, but we will help you as much as we can to find your niche. Hiram will be what you make it. It is our goal to help make it the best and most memorable four years of your life.

So, please, come give us input or join our Senate team!

The fall meeting schedule will be announced soon. Please come to the meetings to have your voice heard! Visitors are always welcome.

Have questions? Contact us at

Additional Information

December 2022 Newsletter

Board & Senators

2022 – 2023 EXECUTIVE BOARD:

The 2022-2023 Executive Board at the Student Senate Hoedown.
Lyndsey Johns: President of Student Senate

Lyndsey is a senior Marketing and Accounting & Financial Management double major. In addition to serving as the President of Student Senate, Lyndsey is also a Student Ambassador and a captain of the women’s volleyball team. In her free time, she enjoys reading, running, and hiking. After undergrad, Lyndsey plans to attend grad school for Higher Education Administration with a concentration in Student Affairs. If you have any questions or concerns, do not hesitate to contact Lyndsey via email at

Ryan Streator: Vice President of Administration

Ryan is a junior Political Science and Sociology double major from Elyria, Ohio. Prior to being elected as Vice President of Administration, Ryan served as a Senator of Athletics representing SAAC. When not in Senate, Ryan is a member of the Terrier Activities Board and the Men’s Golf Team. In his spare time, he enjoys hiking, reading, traveling, and advocating for social justice issues. After undergrad, Ryan plans to pursue a career Urban Planning and Development

Rafah Hussain: Vice President of Communication

Rafah is a junior Biology major from Chicago, Illinois. Along with being in Student Senate, she is also an Eclectic Scholar. Her hobbies include traveling and learning more about the healthcare industry by volunteering and shadowing in various clinical settings. Rafah plans to pursue a career in dental medicine, as she is a part of Hiram College’s and Case Western Reserve University’s School of Dental Medicine seven-year, B.A. to D.M.D. program. Please reach out to Rafah at if you have any questions or suggestions.

Mason Cebulla: Vice President of Finance

Mason will be serving as the Vice President of Finance and the chair of the Funding You Board for the 2022-23 school year. He is currently a 3rd year here at Hiram and is majoring in Biomedical Humanities with a minor in Performing Arts. After undergrad, Mason plans to go to medical school and pursue a career in healthcare. When he is not working on homework or allocating funding to clubs, he loves to watch movies, play soccer and basketball, and play his trumpet. Mason is so excited to be working to fund all the student organizations and collaborate with the rest of the Student Senate.

Mackenzie Flaherty: Vice President of Activities

Mackenzie will be serving as the Vice President of Activities for the 2022-2023 school year. She is currently a junior and is majoring in Political Science with a minor in Crime, Law, and Justice. After undergrad, Mackenzie hopes to attend law school to study Civil Rights and Human Rights law. When she is not in meetings or studying, Mackenzie loves to workout, kayak, and read. This year, she will be working closely with clubs of all kinds, new and returning. Mackenzie can’t wait to see what this year holds for Hiram students.

Mick Steiner: Advisor of Student Senate

Mick Steiner serves as the Assistant Dean of Students at Hiram College.

Fall 3-Week Office Hours
  • Lyndsey Johns: Tuesday and Wednesday 10:00-12:00pm 
  • Ryan Streator: Tuesday and Thursday 3:15-4:14pm, Wednesday 12:00-2:00pm
  • Rafah Hussain: Monday and Wednesday 12:00-2:00pm
  • Mackenzie Flaherty: Monday and Wednesday 1:00-3:00pm
  • Mason Cebulla: Tuesday and Wednesday 12:00-2:00pm

Office hours are open for any students who have questions to attend and discuss with an Executive Board member. The Student Senate Office is located in the Dean of Students Office in Bates Hall. If you have any questions, contact


Residents of Booth, Centennial, and The Quad:
Residents of Booth, Centennial, and The Quad: Samual Blackmore
Residents of Bowler, Miller, Henry and Whitcomb: Stephenie Travis
Residents of Bowler, Miller, Henry and Whitcomb: Cerena Miller
Residents of East and the Townhouses: Jade Mongold
Commuter Students: Madison Palm
Commuter Students:


Arts, Humanities & Politics: Open
Business & Communication: Open
Health, Education, Sustainability, & Society: Isabella Cambareri
Health, Education, Sustainability, & Society: Ethan Barnes
Science & Technology: Amanda Pittman


First Year: Kostya Lopez
First Year: Aurora Nunnery
Second Year: Halley Fritz
Third Year: Isabella Galecki
Fourth Year and Beyond: Marisa Bolton


International Students: Thomas Crouzet
Athletics: Abigail Bernhardt
Athletics: Drew Hostetler
Racial Equity & Inclusion: Betty Marin
Gender Equity & Inclusion: Alivia Selander