Hiram College

The Hiram College swimming and diving teams resumed its 2013-14 schedule, but fell on the losing end of a non-conference dual meet against Bethany (W.Va.) College in Bethany, W.Va.  The Terrier women were defeated by the Bison, 120-104, and the men lost, 120-99.

The women had two individual event winners and a pair of winning relay teams.  Touching the wall first for the Terriers in individual events were juniors Rachel Buckley(Amherst/Elyria Catholic) and Samantha Polmanteer (Berkley, Mich./Berkley).  Buckley posted a winning time of 26.45 seconds in the 50-yard freestyle and Polmanteer recorded a winning score of 122.15 points in the one-meter diving event.  In relay action, the team of senior Carson Applewhite (Menlo Park, Calif./Summit Prep), freshmanNatalie Waple (Bedford), junior Emily Anderson (Morgantown, W.Va./University) and freshman Meredith Fitschen-Brown (East Lansing, Mich./East Lansing) had a winning time of 2:09.35 in the 200-yard medley relay.  In addition, the combination of Buckley, freshman Emily Kelly (North Royalton), junior Rebecca Wright (New Carlisle/Northwestern Local) and junior Carly Daniels (Mesa, Ariz./Dobson) won the 200-yard freestyle relay in a time of 1:52.05.

The men won six individual events and had two multiple-event winners in senior Job Fields (Chillicothe) and sophomore Mark Stanke (Dover).  Fields recorded winning times in both the 1000-yard free (11:18.42) and the 100-yard backstroke (1:00.60).  Stanke had winning marks of 23.45 seconds in the 50-yard free and 51.90 seconds in the 100-yard free.  Joining Fields and Stanke in the winners circle was senior Ryan Astalos (Bainbridge/Kenston) who won the 200-yard free in a time of 1:58.76.  Rounding out the event winners was freshman Jordan Canevari (Vero Beach, Fla./St. Edward’s) who captured the 500-yard free with a time of 5:30.39.

The swimming and diving teams will again be idle until after semester break when the Terriers compete against Wittenberg University in a home dual meet at Alumni Memorial Pool on Saturday, Jan. 11.  The first event is scheduled to begin at 1 p.m.