Hiram College

The Hiram College swimming and diving teams split a non-conference dual meet against Baldwin Wallace University as part of the Cleveland City Challenge hosted by Oberlin College in Oberlin.  The Terrier women were defeated by the Yellow Jackets, 125-117, but the Hiram men defeated BW, 113-108.

The Hiram women won five individual events and had a pair of multiple-event winners.  Sophomore Carly Daniels (Mesa, Ariz./Dobson) took top honors in both the 200-yard freestyle (2:07.89) and the 100-yard free (58.96 seconds).  Freshman Rachel Patten (Castalia/Margaretta) touched the wall first in both the 1000-yard free (11:43.49) and the 500-yard free (5:45.33).  Also recording a winning time for the women was sophomore Rachel Buckley (Amherst/Elyria Catholic) in the 50-yard free in a time of 26.94 seconds.  In addition, the women had one winning relay with the team of Buckley, senior Jessie Gruden (Sagamore Hills/Western Reserve), sophomore Rebecca Wright (New Carlisle/Northwestern Local) and Daniels combining to record a time of 4:00.92 in the 400-yard free relay to take top honors.

On the men’s side, the Terriers won six individual events.  Hiram was led by the duo of senior Jame DeGroff (Cuyahoga Falls) and junior Job Fields (Chillicothe) who both won two events.  DeGroff touched first in both the 50-yard free (22.58 seconds) and the 100-yard free (50.48 seconds), while Fields came in first place in the 1000-yard free (11:16.31) and the 500-yard free (5:27.81).  Also posting top times was junior Ryan Astalos (Bainbridge/Kenston) in the 200-yard free (1:57.13) and Greg Summers who captured the one-meter diving event with 128.95 points.  In addition, the men had a winning time in the 400-yard free relay.  The team of DeGroff, freshman Mark Stanke(Dover), freshman Christian Kelley (Walpole, Mass./Walpole) and Astalos had a mark of 3:31.99 to come in first place.

Hiram will next host Ursuline College on Friday, Nov. 9 in a non-conference dual meet at Alumni Memorial Pool.  The first event is scheduled to begin at 6 p.m.