Hiram College

Nine Hiram students placed in the 2011 Echo Student Literary Competition, winning prizes of up to $175.

The competition was open to students at six colleges, including Hiram, Bethany College, Heidelberg University, Marietta College, the University of Mount Unioin and Muskingum University. Prizes were awarded for first, second and third place, along with several honorable mentions, for original works in poetry, fiction and creative nonfiction.

The competition was run through the Lindsay-Crane Center for Writing & Literature. All winning submissions will  be published in The Echo 2011 Student Literary Anthology.

The following students received first, second or third place honors. Hiram students are denoted with (*).

*Poetry Division
Gracie D’Angelo (Youngstown, Ohio), Hiram College for her poem “The Way It Is Now” and an Honorable Mention for her poem “Things Didn’t Get Bad Until His Dog Ate His Cat”.
Fiction Division – Kelly Morckel (Patmos, Ohio), University of Mount Union for her story entitled “Two Dreamers”
*Creative Nonfiction Division – Caitlyn Caldwell (Poland, Ohio), Hiram College for her story entitled “When You Touch a Dead Person”

Poetry Division – Callie Saxton
(West Jefferson, Ohio), Muskingum University for her poem “Porch Swing Refuge”
Fiction Division – Haley Fedor (Munhall, Pennsylvania), Bethany College for her story entitled “A New Set of Wheels”
*Creative Nonfiction Division – Linda McConnell (Painesville, Ohio), Hiram College for her story “A Yellow Room” and an Honorable Mention for her poem “Hermit Crab”

Poetry Division – Alicia Wright
(Belmont, West Virginia), Marietta College for her poem entitled “There is No News”
*Fiction Division – Alexis Linton (East Claridon), Hiram College for her entry entitled “Games”
*Creative Nonfiction Division – Maryann Hudak (Solon, Ohio), Hiram College for her story “A Thirst for the Exotic” and an Honorable Mention for her poem entitled “Portrait of the Dead”.

Honorable Mentions were awarded to:

Hiram College
Sara Benedetto
(Twinsburg, Ohio) for her creative nonfiction story “The Apple Never Fell”
Elizabeth McIntyre (Akron, Ohio) for her poem “At the Joffrey Ballet with My Mother”
Alex Gill (South Euclid, Ohio) for his fiction entry entitled “What Happened to All Our Money?”
Nick Sawatsky (Middleburg Heights, Ohio) for his fiction story “A Daughter’s Responsibility”

University of Mount Union
Jen Sprandel
(Green, Ohio) for her fiction entry entitled “Tomato Juice”
Dana Petro (Alliance, Ohio) for her fiction entry entitled “The Gnome Chronicles”

Muskingum University
Anthony Vaccaro (Pataskala, Ohio) for his poem entitled “The Original Side of the Mountain; (A Tribute to “The Other side of the Mountain” by Kit Wright)