Hiram College

The Hiram College softball team was picked to finish fourth in the 2013 North Coast Athletic Conference preseason coaches poll.

Defending conference tournament champion Denison University was picked as the favorite with 73 points and five of nine first-place votes.  Allegheny (Pa.) College was second with 66 points and three first-place votes.  DePauw (Ind.) University rounded out the top three with 61 points.  Ohio Wesleyan University received the other first-place vote and was picked fifth in the preseason standings.

Hiram returns eight letterwinners this spring and five players who saw playing time as starters in 2012.  The Terriers also return a pair of All-Conference players in junior Sarah Loyer(Barrie, Ontario/St. Joseph’s) and sophomore Miranda Wright (Richfield/Revere). Loyer started all 36 games last season and had a .302 batting average (35-of-116). She was second in doubles (seven), second in stolen bases (nine) and third in runs scored (25). Loyer was also amongst the team leaders in RBI with 15. Wright made an impact for the Terriers as a freshman finishing her “rookie” season second on the team in batting average at .354 (34-of-96). She hit two homeruns, four doubles, scored 18 runs and tallied 13 RBI.

Hiram will begin the 2013 season with its annual spring trip to Florida. This year, the Terriers will return to Fort Myers, Fla. to take part in the Gene Cusic Classic. Hiram will open the season on Sunday, Mar. 3 with a matchup against Regis (Mass.) College beginning at 9 a.m., followed by a game against Dominican (Ill.) University at 11 a.m. Hiram will also make a stop in Atlanta, Ga. to take part in the NFCA Division III Leadoff Classic on Mar. 8-9 before returning north. The Terriers will begin their northern schedule with a non-conference doubleheader against Trine (Ind.) University on Saturday, Mar. 16. The first game is scheduled to begin at 2 p.m.


2013 NCAC Preseason Poll
Place School (First-Place Votes) Points
1. Denison (5) 73
2. Allegheny (3) 66
3. DePauw 61
4. Hiram 50
5. Ohio Wesleyan (1) 48
6. Wooster 44
7. Wittenberg 33
8. Oberlin 20
9. Kenyon 10