Hiram College

JJ Turner Induction

More than 50 Hiram College students were honored with membership into the J.J. Turner Society on March 24, 2015. These graduating seniors are being recognized for their studies in biology, biochemistry, biomedical humanities and neuroscience.

The J.J. Turner Society is named after Hiram College alumnus and professor of biology and natural history, Jesse James Turner, Ph.D. Turner graduated from Hiram College in 1902 and returned as a professor in 1906. He is remembered as “a superb and caring teacher” who is credited with the recognition of Hiram College’s outstanding science programs. The Society was established in the early 1980s to recognize graduating seniors and to connect these students with alumni.

The keynote speaker at the induction ceremony was Hiram alumna Mary Gavin, Ph.D. ’86. She is currently the chair of the Biology Department at Oberlin College and is the author of numerous publications from both her alma mater and her current institution. She was also the director of the James H. Barrow Biological Field Station while she was earning a degree in biology at Hiram. Dr. Gavin delivered a talk entitled “Flukes, flying zoological gardens, and time machine trees.”

The annual meeting of the J.J. Turner Society will take place during Alumni Weekend: June 20, 2015, at 10:30 a.m. (location TBA). Lauren Lanphear ’79, ISA certified arborist from Forest City Tree Protection Co, will be recognized for his achievements, and Matt Hils, Ph.D., professor of biology, will be recognized posthumously.

The following Hiram College seniors were inducted this year:

  • Emily Anderson
  • Pye Aung
  • Jaren Bell
  • Trudy Belter
  • Scott Betts
  • Natasha Blonsky
  • Kristina Bode
  • Patricia Bohls
  • Kati Bradford
  • Ashley Brittain
  • Hannah Brown
  • Rachel Buckley
  • Preston Caldwell
  • Tyree Campbell
  • Bridgett Click
  • Sarah Condon
  • Kailey Cooper
  • Jeffery Crowley
  • Ciara Delahunty
  • Alexandria Engler
  • Alexander Fakhoury
  • Sorina Fatu
  • Matthew Geraldi
  • Bryan Goldstein
  • Jessica Hartman
  • Jennifer Harvey
  • Michael Helco
  • Devonique Henderson
  • Samantha Hughes
  • Shirjoma Jacobs
  • John Janowski
  • John Jenior
  • Ashley Jerman
  • Rachael Kovalak
  • Jennifer Lambert
  • Mark Leone
  • Amanda Lewis
  • Janie Linger
  • Tiffany Marchewka
  • Kelsey Martin
  • Leaunna Martin
  • Megan McBratnie
  • Sean Milo
  • Tierra Moore
  • Kyle Myers
  • Timothy O’Neill
  • Eva Petrik
  • Nicole Pueyo Svaboda
  • Heather Ristau
  • James Romanowski
  • Rachel Rutherford
  • Megan Sautner
  • Hannah Shrader
  • Alen Siljak
  • Rebecca Simon
  • Robin Singleton
  • Curtis Webster
  • Ryan Ziegler
  • Regina Zyle

[btn link=”http://www.hiram.edu/majors-and-minors/biology/jjturner-society” color=”grey” size=”size-m”]Learn more about the J.J. Turner Society.[/btn]