Hiram College

Happiness, sustainability, and Buddhism in the Himalayan Kingdom of Bhutan will be the focus as Hiram College hosts the 29thLectures in Religion Series today and tomorrow, April 3-4.

Featured will be three separate lectures by Dasho Karma Ura, President of the Centre for Bhutan

Studies, a multi-disciplinary social science and public policy research institute, promoting research and scholarship on all aspects of Bhutanese culture and larger society, including religion, history, economics, and politics. The first Lecture, “Happiness,” will be at 7:30 p.m. today, with the second, titled “Buddhism,”  at 12:30 p.m. tomorrow, and the third, “Sustainability” at 2:45-4 p.m. tomorrow. All lectures are in the ballroom of the Kennedy Center on the Hiram Campus. The lectures are free and open to the public.

Under Dasho Ura’s leadership, The Centre has promoted and deepened the world’s understanding of Bhutan’s philosophy of sustainability, known as “Gross National Happiness.” He earned his B.A. from Oxford University, and M.Phil. from the University of Edinburgh. In 2006, he was awarded the ancient title of Dasho by His Majesty the Fourth King of Bhutan. He is a prolific writer with articles and essays published internationally, and numerous books, including a novel and translation of a classic Bhutanese epic. A painter of Buddhist art and socially-engaged thinker, his life and work reflect the holistic intertwining of religion, arts, and civic commitment.

Since 1972, the Hiram College Department of Religious Studies has invited nationally and internationally recognized religion scholars to address the community on topics of current interest in the field. Seeking to serve the wider community, the Department has invited leaders of all religious traditions to attend the lecture series.

The annual lectures have brought to campus such well known scholars as Abdulaziz Sachedina, Robert A. F. Thurman,

Jacob Neusner,Harvey Cox, Rita Nakashima Brock, David Gordon White, Raymond E. Brown,Marjorie Suchocki,Walter

Brueggemann, James Cone, Langdon Gilkey, James M. Gustafson, Rosemary Radford Ruether, and Don E. Saliers.