Hiram College

The Lindsay-Crane Center for Writing & Literature has announced the following winners of the 2011 Kroehle Creative Nonfiction Contest:

  • First Place ($300): Nick Sawatsky ’14, Thank You for Running from the Police
  • Second Place ($200): Sarah Pavolko ’12, Revising
  • Third Place ($100): Alex Gill ’12, Junkers
  • Honorable Mentions: Michelle Allamon ’13, Mother Knows Best; Francesca Luppino ’12, Rwanda: Aware

Entries were judged by Rebecca McClanahan, author of nine books, including her most recent Deep Light: New and Selected Poems. Her 2002 book The Riddle Song and Other Rememberings won the 2005 Glasgow Prize in Nonfiction.

This contest is made possible by the Ralph and and Marion G. Kroehle Foundation.