Hiram College

The Ohio Banner Users Group Collaboration (OBUG*C), representing the 26 Banner schools in Ohio, is expanding its relationship with SunGard Higher Education to create a “first of its kind” collaboration of public and private institutions, aligning with the University System of Ohio’s goal of meeting the needs of a thriving 21st century economy.

OBUG*C recognizes the need for enhanced collaboration among institutions to realize greater cost effectiveness. The group will mutually focus on shared services as an opportunity to produce more efficient results in areas such as:

  • Student Access and Success – collaboration through common initiatives that aim for consistent approaches
  • Accountability – reducing costs by seeking advances in technology for common initiatives
  • Increased Performance Standards – commonalities sought through key performance indicators and other metrics

To help accomplish these goals, SunGard Higher Education will provide dedicated resources, delivering business analysis and development skills to support the 26 campuses.

Collaborative Mission Statement

OBUG*C, working with SunGard Higher Education, protects members’ investments through coordinated software license purchasing and fee discounts, reduced predictable consulting costs, and a dedicated Technical Center. The newly formed Technical Center will support development of value-added software and collaborative, cost efficient services to satisfy the needs of the consortium members and will create a new director-level Ohio position that will provide management and coordination of the collaborative initiatives.

The OBUG*C Technical Center will be dedicated to the development and maintenance of software that adds value and provides for standard reporting requirements, necessary interface programs, and implementation of state policies, essential state systems, and modifications that will support uniform software requirements of Ohio institutions where applicable.

Collaborative Structure

Bylaws have been created to dictate the governance and operation of the Ohio Banner Users Group Collaboration. The bylaws outline the roles for those directly involved with OBUG*C during its life cycle, including the executive governing board, several working committees and their responsibilities.

An OBUG*C Executive Governing Board will work with the member Private and Public Colleges, and SunGard Higher Education to achieve the objectives of OBUG*C. The Board will consist of nine (9) board members, with each seat designated among Two- and Four-Year Public and Private Colleges and includes representation from executive campus leadership.

Ohio Banner Users Group Demographics and Objectives

There are 26 institutions running SunGard Higher Education’s Banner Digital Campus in Ohio, which presents opportunities for networking and building a framework of support. The Ohio Banner Users Group meets twice a year, in the spring and fall, and has an average attendance of 250 individuals. Ohio Banner Users Group members can reach others in their functional areas by using available dedicated listservs. The Ohio Banner User Group membership is currently made up of 795 individuals from the 26 institutions.

The Ohio Banner Users Group, led by Coleen Santee at Kent State University, was established in 2002 to provide institutions with opportunities for:

Networking and developing support groups with fellow Banner users

  • Seeking solutions to common business issues
  • Positive discussion to enhance Banner use
  • Collaboration on common software enhancements
  • Present a significant presence to SunGard Higher Education in support of software enhancements
  • Sharing functional and technical expertise

The 26 Ohio Banner schools serve over 181,000 students:

Central State University
Cuyahoga Community College
Denison University
Heidelberg College
Hiram College
James A. Rhodes State College
John Carroll University
Kent State University
Kenyon College
Lakeland Community College
Lourdes College
Miami University
Northwest State Community College
Oberlin College
Ohio Northern University
Otterbein College
Owens Community College
Stark State College
University of Dayton
University of Toledo
Walsh University
Wright State University
Xavier University
Youngstown State University

About SunGard Higher Education

SunGard Higher Education serves colleges, universities and foundations in 40 countries worldwide.  Through its Open Digital Campus strategy, SunGard collaborates with the higher education community and provides software and services to help institutions find better ways to teach, learn, manage and connect. To learn more, please visit www.sungardhe.com.