Each year, Hiram College recognizes the excellence of our faculty who often fuel student learning and success. The achievements of our faculty reflect the passion and expertise they bring to their respective fields. Annually, the College recognizes a select number of faculty who have made significant contributions in the areas of teaching, service, and dedication to the campus community.

The following faculty were recently recognized for their contributions to Hiram College:

Vencl-Carr Recognition of Teaching Excellence

Jeffery Swenson, Ph.D., associate professor and director of Writing Across the Curriculum

Established in 1981 through the generosity of John and Hilde Carr, the Vencl-Carr Award for Excellence in Teaching seeks to honor and recognize a faculty member who has made unusual and significant contributions to the education of students beyond the classroom.

Michael Starr Award

Andrew White, Ph.D., visiting assistant professor of psychology

The Michael Starr Award was made possible by former Hiram College Trustee Michael Dively who served on the Board from 1986 to 1994 and who chaired the Educational Policy Committee. It is named in honor of former history department faculty member Michael Starr. The purpose of the award is to encourage newly appointed faculty members to continue a career in academic life and to provide public recognition for superior teaching ability, scholarly achievement and to demonstrate lasting impact on student education beyond the classroom.

The Paul E. Martin Award

Annually, the Paul E. Martin Award is given to faculty members who have made outstanding contributions to Hiram College’s academic programs by introducing diversity in educational life and faculty teaching models during the preceding year. Made possible by an endowment gift established by Paul Martin in 1990, the award provides faculty with a stipend that can be used for future professional development.

The following faculty members have been named Paul E. Martin Award winners for the 2017-2018 academic year:

Jugdep Chima, Ph.D., associate professor of political science and coordinator of international studies major

Catherine Erbes, Ph.D., assistant professor of mathematics

Brian Knettle, Ph.D., associate professor of chemistry and chair of the Academic Review Board

Merose Hwang, Ph.D., associate professor of history and coordinator for Asian studies minor and Peace Corps Prep Program

Emily Waples, Ph.D., assistant professor of biomedical humanities

Roxanne Sorrick, Ed.D, professor and chair of education and head of Teacher Education

The Howard S. Bissell Chair of Liberal Arts

Debbie Kasper, Ph.D., associate professor and chair of environmental studies

George Bissell established the Howard S. Bissell Chair of Liberal Arts in honor of his father in 1998. A respected attorney, business executive, Howard Bissel served as a friend and member of the College’s Board of Trustees for many years. Holders of the endowed position are recognized as having an active and rich scholarly life and who reflect, through their teaching and service, the College’s long-standing commitment to the mentoring relationship between faculty and students.

by Jenelle Bayus

Similar Posts