Hiram College

Eight Inducted into Garfield Society

Hiram College inducted eight new members into its Garfield Society on Oct. 23, 2015. The Society celebrates and honors individuals who have demonstrated significant professional achievements and whose efforts have substantially enriched their communities and Hiram College. Nearly 500 individuals have been inducted into the Garfield Society over the years.

Jo Ann Davidson

At the recent meeting and celebration, Jo Ann Davidson, co-chair of the Republican National Convention Committee on Arrangements and former speaker of the Ohio House of Representatives, gave the keynote address “Spotlight on Ohio,” discussing the state’s key role in the upcoming 2016 presidential election.

Davidson was later inducted into the society, along with the following individuals:

  • David Coleman, M.S., Hiram College Trustee, Vice President of Officiating for Pac-12 Conference (NCAA, Div. I)
  • James M. Malz, Hiram College Trustee, Ohio Market President, JPMorgan Chase
  • Jennifer L. Miller, Ph.D., Hiram College Director of Academic Operations, Professional and Graduate Studies
  • Elizabeth M. Okuma, M.Ed., Vice President and Dean of Students
  • Roxanne S. Sorrick, Ed.D., Hiram College Professor of Education, Head of Teacher Education
  • Constance Stopper, Ph.D., Hiram College Professor of Nursing and Nursing Program Director
  • Paul M. Whitacre, M.S.S.E., M.B.A., Hiram College Trustee, Senior Vice President, Onyx Renewable Partners (New York City)

The Hiram College Board of Trustees established the Garfield Society in 1973. It is named for James A. Garfield, who, before serving as the 20th president of the United States, served as principal of the Western Reserve Eclectic Institute, which later became Hiram College.

View additional photos.