Hiram College

h-cHiram College will honor its senior student-athletes at a banquet on May 9, 2013. The event is invitation-only, and will begin at 6 p.m. in the Dining Hall.

The following athletics awards have already been announced:

North Coast Athletic Conference Scholar-Athlete Award
Awarded annually to the outstanding male and female student-athlete at each member institution.

  • Jessica Gruden (Women’s Swimming & Diving)
  • Ryan Greenhill  (Men’s Soccer)

Donald M. Campbell Memorial Award
Awarded each year to the College’s outstanding male student-athlete. In 1961, as suggested by the then editor of the school newspaper, an award to honor the outstanding male athlete of the year. Named after the newspaper, it was originally called the Terrier Award. In 1970, it was changed to the Donald M. Campbell, Jr. Award to honor one of our former athletes who lost his life in a house fire in an attempt to save his parents’ lives.

  • Ryan Minick (Men’s Soccer)

Helen M. Petroskey Award
Established by the Department of Physical Education in honor of a former faculty member and chair for 29 years, “Miss Pete”. Awarded each year to the College’s outstanding female student-athlete.

  • Jessica Bolanz (Softball)

Charles A. Henry Award
Established and endowed by family and friends in memory of Charles A. Henry, class of 1920. The award is to commemorate the memory of a man who was associated with the college for 60 years as a student, an All-Ohio football player, Admission Director, coach, Alumni Secretary and originator of Alumni Annual Giving. He was “Mr. Hiram”. Awarded each year to the College’s outstanding male or female in the junior class.

  • Andy Harding (Men’s Soccer)

Herbert C. Matthews Memorial Award
Awarded to a student-athlete for extraordinary athletic achievement. It is reserved for individuals who have overcome significant obstacles to excel in intercollegiate competition during their career at Hiram College.

  • Mike LaLonde (Baseball) 

North Coast Athletic Conference Woman/Man of Year Award (Hiram nominees to the NCAC)
Awarded annually to THE outstanding GRADUATING male and female student-athlete IN THE NCAC. Both awards recognize a student-athlete who has distinguished oneself throughout their collegiate career in the areas of academic achievement, athletics excellence, service and leadership.

  • Ariel Pund (Volleyball)
  • Bryan Nemire (Men’s Cross Country)