Hiram College
Students were inducted into Phi Beta Kappa, the oldest and most prestigious  academic honorary society in the United States.

Students were inducted into Phi Beta Kappa, the oldest and most prestigious academic honorary society in the United States.

In advance of Hiram College’s 165th Commencement, students were honored for academic and leadership achievements during the 2014-2015 academic year at the Celebration of Excellence on May 13, 2015.

The following awards and recognition were presented:

President’s Achievement Award

presCorey Stamco and Jenna Nelson
The President’s Achievement Award is given annually to a woman and man in the junior class whose academic records, campus leadership and devotion to the ideals and objectives of Hiram College distinguish their performances as outstanding. Students selected for this award have demonstrated, during their years at Hiram College, marked growth in academic achievement and in personal development. They have displayed sensitivity to the needs of their fellow students, to those in the College community and of society in general, and they have made constructive contributions to the solutions of these problems. In sum, the President’s Achievement Award goes to those whose records best symbolize the educational goals of Hiram College.

Distinguished Student Leadership Award-Dively

divelyJulia Fabich
The Distinguished Student Leadership Award is given annually by Hiram College in recognition of an outstanding senior student whose contributions to campus life have earned peer respect and admiration. The award recipient receives a gift of $1,000. Michael Dively, a former Hiram College Trustee, founder of the Gerald R. Ford Institute for Leadership in Public Policy and Service, three-term member of the Michigan House of Representatives and former faculty member at Albion College, is the founder of the award.

The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Award

mlkColin Brothers, Nina Lester, Nicole Rhode
The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Award is given annually by Hiram College to a student or students who, through the quality of his or her leadership and overall character, exemplifies a spirit of inclusiveness and an appreciation for multiculturalism and diversity. The value of the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Award is based on investment returns and typically exceeds $500.

Yuksel Ismail Scholarship in Humanities

Abigail Staysa
Established in 1986 by the Ismail family, colleagues, friends and former students, the Yuksel Ismail Scholarship honors the senior in humanities (humanities shall include classical studies, English, foreign languages, history, philosophy and religious studies) who best exemplifies the love of learning and high standards lived out at Hiram College by Yuksel Ismail, professor of languages and literature, until his death in 1986.

moellerNancy Moeller Award

2015 Recipient: Craig Conley
Established in the memory of Nancy Moeller, this award is given to a student who maintained high standards while achieving the goal of a college education and in so doing, earned the respect of faculty members and fellow students.

ODK National Leadership

Hannah Schaefer, Nikolette Scruggs, Molly Reising, Jessica Bessner, Kaitlin Zemanski, Emily Mortimer, Isabella Williams, John Enasko, Corey Stamco, Heather Brant, Jenna Nelson, Ryogo Suzuki, Ann Riddle, Emily Moore, Dragana Zivak, Natasha Blonsky, Nicole Pueyo Svoboda, Tshering Choden, Julia Fabich, Robin Singleton, Patricia Bohls, Megan McNulty, Miranda Wright, Abigail Staysa, Majdal Sobeh, Liudmila Titova, Jocelyn Schmidt, Jacob Vaughan, Mackenzie Barry, Robin Peshick

Omicron Delta Kappa (O?K) also, known as The Circle or more commonly ODK is a national leadership honor society. It was founded December 3, 1914, at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia, by 15 student and faculty leaders. Chapters, known as Circles, are located on over 300 college campuses. The society recognizes outstanding achievement in the following areas: scholarship; athletics; campus community service; social/religious activities; campus government; journalism, speech and the mass media; and creative and performing arts. As the identities of newly selected members are kept secret for a period of time, ODK is fondly considered a quasi-secret society. Membership in the Omicron Delta Kappa Society is regarded as one of the highest collegiate honors that can be awarded to an individual, along with Phi Beta Kappa. In addition to meeting rigorous leadership and service criteria, student membership requires a grade point average of 3.5 or above.

Phi Beta Kappa

Manuel Angel, Pye Aung, Samip Basnet, Tshering Choden, Nan Hu, Robin Singleton, Abigail Staysa, Milla Titova, Brianna Trivelli

Phi Beta Kappa membership has long been recognized as the highest distinction an individual can receive for scholarly excellence in undergraduate studies in the liberal arts and sciences. Founded in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest undergraduate honors society. The official induction ceremony into Phi Beta Kappa takes place during the week of commencement.

reicheleHal Reichle Memorial Award 2015

Jessica Bessner

The Hal Reichle Memorial Award is presented annually to an individual student who has demonstrated significant acts of kindness, generosity and compassion toward other human beings. The award recipient is chosen on the basis of humanitarian efforts, community involvement and volunteerism. The value of the Hal Reichle Memorial Award is based on investment returns and typically exceeds $5,000.

Alpha Society

Alpha Society is one of Hiram’s highest academic honors. Membership is limited to students who have completed 12 or more hours of graded coursework at Hiram College and whose cumulative grade point average is 3.75 or better.

Alpha Society Graduating Seniors

Emily Anderson Zachary Fiest Michael Mausser Majdal Sobeh
Samip Basnet Tiffany Foster Brooke Mayle Nickolas Spishak
Jaren Bell Rachael Fowler Megan McNulty Abigail Staysa
Rachel Buckley Shelley Gordon Sandra Mullins Brandy Strandburg
Sarah Condon Jonathan Hall Cassandra Overall Liudmila Titova
Richard Davis Christine Kindel Julianne Pontuti Brenda Van
Kate Dlugosz Colleen Krebs Corrinne Russell Miranda Wright
Brittany Dunne Ryan Kuhar Kristy Sheer Liao Xiong
Alexander Fakhoury Tiffany Marchewka Hannah Shrader

Alpha Society Underclassmen

Steven Ahern Patrick Garrod Carol Milani Lydia Snyder
Amy Almashy Caroline Georskey John Montello Cole Soldo
Thea Angeli Emily Gilmore Samantha Mullenax Trey Solon
Stacey Barnauskas Spencer Goodheart Ashley Myer Corey Stamco
Mackenzie Barry Therese Hocevar Sharon Nawalaniec Nicholas Suetta
Breanna Beltz Kara Hokes Jenna Nelson Ryogo Suzuki
Mary Benjamin Emily Hruska Stephane Nouafo Wanko Mary Swallow
Seiji Bessho Tabitha Hubbell Christian O’Neil Alyssa Synek
Megan Bisbee Austin Jenkins Robin Peshick Emily Syrjala
Kelly Borders Melissa Johnson Hannah Petelin Rebecca Trendell
Chantelle Brady Kayla Kennedy Michelle Phelps Jacob Vaughan
Heather Brant Carrie Kraft Hannah Platt Maya Watkins
Renee Brumbaugh Christopher Kulka Ellen Plesotis Will Weisman
Emma Caylor Danielle Latine Joseph Popiel Chad White
Jacqueline Cegelka Ritchie Leap Matthew Pozderac Isabella Williams
Megan Chaplin Paige Lewis Timothy Prall Joseph Winnicki
Hallie Chavez Shelby List Ann Riddle Mitchell Wohl
Jason Close Savannah Lorinchack Kathleen Rockhold Matthew Wright
Alexandre Delgado Gabriela Cristian Loyola Padilla Stacia Schaffer Kelly Wynne
Delisa Ellis Erick Marcucci Monica Semosky Zachary Yedlicka
John Enasko Emily Marsteller Brittany Sherwood Paige Zeigler
Kathleen Enoch Tanner Mathews Lilia Siers
Meredith Fitschen-Brown Nathan Metze Erin Smith

Academic departments recognized students for departmental achievements at several other celebrations throughout April and May. View a list of departmental honors and awards.