Hiram College

The following faculty members have been named Martin Award winners for the 2010-2011 year. The annual Martin Awards are made possible by the Paul E. Martin Faculty Enhancement Program, part of an endowment gift from Paul Martin. The awards provide income to be used in support of faculty who have made outstanding contributions to the College’s academic program and educational life in the preceding year.

  • Amanda Armeni, assistant professor of economics, for teaching, course development and leadership in assessment activities
  • Betsy Bauman, associate professor of theatre arts, for departmental leadership and engagement with students, especially during the production of Hair, and for service to the College
  • Brad Gubser, professor of mathematics, for outstanding leadership as Chair of the Faculty
  • Renee Gutierrez, assistant professor of foreign language, for teaching, mentoring activities and departmental leadership
  • Nick Hirsch, assistant professor of biology, for scholarship, leadership within the Biology Department and campus engagement
  • Jim Kercher, assistant professor of chemistry, for scholarship, especially scholarly activities that include students, and community service
  • Jen Miller, associate professor of education, for outstanding contributions to the College’s accreditation and assessment activities
  • Chris Ryan, assistant professor of art, for scholarly external art exhibitions and leadership in departmental programs and activities
  • Carol Shreiner, assistant professor of chemistry, for teaching and  scholarship, especially scholarly activities that include students, and contributions to department activities
  • Jeff Swenson, assistant professor of English, for teaching and for outstanding leadership contributions to the first-year program and assessment activities
  • Mark Taylor, assistant professor of physics, for scholarly productivity and teaching, and outstanding support of our student research activities