Hiram College

Student Senate Officer Board 2020-2021

  • Jeffrey Robb, President
  • Brendan Niggemeyer, Vice President of Administration
  • Taylor Cook, Vice President of Communication 
  • Michael Dietzen, Vice President of Finance
  • Destiny Smith, Vice President of Activities
  • Dr. Liz Okuma, Advisor


JEFFREY ROBB: President of Student Senate

Jeffrey is a Junior Political Science and International Studies double major, with a minor in Public Leadership, from Circleville, Ohio. He has made the political arena his home, being involved in a multitude of different ways. Aside from being the President of Student Senate, Jeffrey is also a Garfield Scholar, a member of Hiram College Middle Ground, and a student worker in the Office of Career and Academic Development. In his free time, Jeffrey reads, follows current events, and does his best to guide those around him into making real change. After Hiram, he wants to get involved in the policy-making process in order to make a genuine difference in the lives of people. If you ever have questions, concerns, ideas, or you just want to chat, always feel free to reach out to Jeffrey.

BRENDAN NIGGEMEYER: Vice President of Administration

Brendan is a junior political science major while minoring in public leadership and physics from Athens, Ohio.  In his role as Senator of Third Years, Brendan worked on issues such as improving campus accessibility, and sustainable development.  Currently, Brendan also participates in varsity soccer, Garfield Center for Public Leadership, Eclectic Honors, and the Student Advisor Board for the School of Education, Civic Leadership & Social Change.  To pass the time, Brendan plays soccer, hangs out with friends and family, and keeps up with the news.

TAYLOR COOK: Vice President of Communication

Taylor is a junior Political Science and Communication double major. On campus, Taylor is the secretary of Feminism in Action, a member of the Garfield Center for Public Leadership, and a Student Ambassador. She also works as a Tour Guide and a member of the Terrier Welcome team. Before becoming the Vice President of Communication, Taylor spent two years serving as a Senator representing the class of 2022. 

MICHAEL DIETZEN: Vice President of Finance

Michael Dietzen is a junior who is double majoring in Political Science and International Studies with two minors in Classics and Public Leadership. He currently works at a political consulting firm that provides campaign finance services to elected officials across the state of Ohio. Outside of his professional responsibilities, Michael enjoys hiking, kayaking, and really just about anything else that gets him away from civilization. On campus Michael is involved with Middle Ground, Political Science Club and several other student organizations. His long term aspirations are to pursue to a master’s degree in Public Policy and bring about more leftism.

DESTINY SMITH: Vice President of Activities

Destiny is a senior Political Science major from Richmond Heights, Ohio.  She is the Vice President for Writers in Residence, Orientation Leader, member of the Terrier welcome Team, Eclectic Scholar and a student worker in the Registrar’s office. In her first year of senate she represented her first year class and worked on issues of diversity and academic freedom. To pass time, Destiny reads, writes, and hangs out with her family and friends.