Hiram College

Program Awards

Creative Writing Major

2020 Award Recipients

Grace J. Chamberlain Prize in Creative Writing

Rhonesha Robinson and Katherine Starr

Established in 2007 by Joyce, Robert and Dylan Chamberlain, the parents and brother of Grace J. Chamberlain, who died tragically in an automobile accident in 2006, this prize is awarded annually by the English Program to a student who shows great promise in creative writing. This prize is funded annually by a Cleveland Foundation Donor Advised Fund.

English Department Book Award

Yidiayah Box, Helen Frazier, Rashid Jackson, Amber Kenney, Ari Mosquera, Jill Schmidt and Cas Watson

Awarded to a student who contributes to the intellectual life of the English Program in creative and often unrecognized ways.

Hiram College Writing Center Award

Haley Adams, Sarah Mellinger and Lani Pace

This award goes to the seniors who have made the greatest contributions to the Writing Center and the writing program at Hiram College. Both exceptional service to the institution and an extraordinary personal commitment to the study of writing are required.

John S. Kenyon Memorial Award in English

Matt Mitchell

Awarded to honor the graduating senior student in English who best exemplifies the creative and scholarly spirit associated with John Samuel Kenyon, class of 1898, professor of English, 1916-1944 and emeritus professor of English, 1944-1959.

The Richard C. and Jo Ann Murphy Underwood Endowed Memorial Scholarship

Quinn Tucker

Student who, in the judgment of the English Program, is a promising candidate for a career in journalism.

Howard Seymour Bissell Scholarship

Maya Pappas

A scholarship to be awarded each year to an outstanding Hiram student of English in recognition of excellence, based on merit, talent, achievement, and promise.

Carl Brown Memorial Scholarship

Megan Bockelman

For the purpose of establishing an endowed scholarship awarded on the basis of good character, scholastic ability, and literary achievement with first preference given to an English major who gives evidence of a distinguished career in this field.

The Lee and Irma Cannon Memorial Scholarship

Amanda Jordan (Foreign Language)

The Lee and Irma Cannon Memorial Scholarship was established and endowed by Mrs. Charity Cannon Willard, friends and faculties of the English and Foreign Language Departments, in memory of Lee and Irma Cannon, longtime and devoted members of the faculty who taught at Hiram from 1916 until their retirements in 1956 and 1954 respectively.  It is awarded to an outstanding junior, alternating each year between a student from the English Department and the Foreign Language Department, nominated by faculty members of these respective departments.

To learn more about the awards for Writing Contests hosted by the Lindsay-Crane Center for Literature and Writing, visit the Writing Contests page.