Board of Trustees

Members of the Board of Trustees of Hiram College are charged with the responsibility of assuring that the institution remains strong and viable and that its students receive an education equal to, or better than, peer institutions.

Image: Hiram campus during the fall semester

Board Members

The three elements of this precept – academics, finances and physical facilities – are interwoven. Each supports the others and enables a continuing stream of creative, intellectually alive, well-motivated students to graduate annually from the College. In addition, the Board strives to educate adults who have not previously benefited from a liberal arts education and to provide advanced learning in liberal studies to individuals at the graduate level.

Wendy L. Allen ’74

U.S. Defense Department (retired)

Dr. Donald L. Batisky ’83

Associate Dean, Medical Student Admissions & Special Programs
Professor of Pediatrics, University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
Pediatric Nephrologist, Cincinnati’s Children’s Medical Center

William C. Bissell

Associate Professor of Anthropology
Lafayette College

F. David Coleman

Vice President of Officiating
PAC-12 Conference

Kathleen A. Coleman ’87

Cultural / Community Relations

Larry A. DeYoung ’69

Vice President of Government Relations (retired) and Secretary
Livonia, Avon and Lakeville Railroad Company/
Western New York and Pennsylvania Railroad

Dr. Janet Dix

Psychologist, Western Reserve Psychological Associates, Inc.

Joseph Fernandez ’82

President / Chief Executive Officer
Active Motif, Inc.

Paula Frohring

Ecological Consultant

Richard A. Giesen, Jr.

Chief Investment Officer Emeritus, Elessar Investment Management

James Graham ’88

Executive Vice President, Human Resources, Chief Legal and Administrative Officer & Secretary
Cleveland-Cliffs, Inc.

Douglas J. Grimm ’84

Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer
Grede Holdings, LLC

Douglas Gruber ’82

Vice President for the Americas (retired), Delphi Automotive Corporation

Doug Hardman ’80

Vice President (retired), Strategy& (affiliate of PwC)

Claudia Highbaugh ’72

Dean of Religious & Spiritual Life (Retired)
Connecticut College

Lyndsey Johns ’23

Graduate Student, Bowling Green State University (Ohio)

Elizabeth B. Juliano ’84
Board Vice Chair

Vice Chair of the Board, Founder and Chief Executive Officer
Litigation Management, Inc. 

Donald Kaatz ’74

President and Chief Executive Officer
Adventure Growth, Inc.

James M. Malz ’87

Midwest Regional Executive, Ohio State President of Commercial Banking
Citizens Bank

J. Kevin McMahon ’74

President & Chief Executive Officer (Retired)
The Pittsburgh Cultural Trust

Nicole Monachino ’00

Chief Legal Officer and Head of Business Operations
Quality Executive Partners, Inc.

Kenneth C. Moore ’69

Senior Partner
Squire Patton Boggs (US) LLP

Anthony J. Payiavlas

President and Chief Executive Officer
AVI Foodsystems, Inc.

Joan Roguski ’77

Director of Benefits (retired), AFTRA Retirement Fund

Dr. Robert J. Sher ’72

Physician, Urological Consultants (retired)

Bruce Shylo ’71

Chief Operating Officer, The Shylo Group

Perry Streidel ’75

Associate Vice President (retired), Bank of America

Trey Saunders ’23

Graduate Student, Northeast Ohio Medical University

Lucia D. Swanson ’70
Board Secretary

Managing Director and Deputy General Counsel (retired)
Donaldson Lufkin & Jenrette, Inc.

Richard B. Thompson

Owner / Executive, Therm-O-Link, Inc.

Robert W. Turner ’72
Board Chair

Senior Vice President (retired)
Union Pacific Corporation

Dr. Kristin Victoroff

Associate Dean of Dental Education and Academic Affairs
The Bitonte College of Dentistry, Northeast Ohio Medical University

Dr. H. John Visser II ’74

Midwest Podiatry & Associates, LLC 

Robert P. Warren, Esq. ’68

Owner/President, Chief Executive Officer
Peel Management Company

Paul Whitacre ’78

Head of Asset Management
Sustainable Development Capital, LCC


Dr. Thomas W. Andrews ’59


Roger G. Baldwin ’69

Professor of Higher, Adult, and Lifelong Education
Michigan State University

Dr. Sheryl L. Buckley ’68

Anesthesiologist (retired), Barberton Citizens Hospital

Martin C. Clague ’64

Principal, McClague, LLC

Vincent A. DiGirolamo

Vice Chairman (retired)
National City Corporation

William W. Falsgraf, Esq.

Partner (retired), Baker & Hostetler, LLP

Dr. Jerold S. Goldberg

Professor, Former Dean of the School of Dental Medicine
Case Western Reserve University

R. Thomas Green, Jr.

Chairman Emeritus, Olgebay Norton Company

C. Thomas Harvie

Senior Vice President, General Counsel & Secretary (retired)
The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company

Curtiss L. Isler

Partner (retired)
Tucker Ellis, LLP

Terry Kovel

Owner, Chief Executive Officer
Kovel’s Antiques, Inc.

H. Todd Morris ’62

Owner (retired)
Morris Office Equipment

William J. Recker

Founder / Managing Partner, IronBridge Partners

Dr. Harry J. Stiggers ’53

Physician / Surgeon, Stiggers Medical Center

Andrew J. Stofan ’57

NASA Administrator (retired)
Lockheed Martin Missiles & Space

Davis Young

Principal, DY Author and Speaker LLC