Departmental Awards

Carl R. Brown Memorial Scholarship

Established by the late Alice Brown (Class of 1913) and friends, in memory of her husband, Carl R. Brown (Class of 1909), a loyal and devoted member of the Board of Trustees. Awarded on the basis of good character, scholastic ability, and literary achievement, with preference given to a student majoring in English who gives evidence of a distinguished career in this field.

  • 2003-2004 recipient: Tammy McVay
  • 2004-2005 recipient: Jessica Hoptay
  • 2005-2006 recipient: Philip Mallard
  • 2006-2007 recipient: Megan Shutts
  • 2007-2008 recipient: Daniel Yockel
  • 2008-2009 recipient: Dane Leimbach
  • 2009-2010 recipient: Devon Gahr
  • 2010-2011 recipient: Beau Bradley
  • 2011-2012 recipient: Joseph Randolph
  • 2012-2013 recipient: Tyler Thomas
  • 2013-2014 recipient: Kristie Schroll

Hiram College Writing Center Award

This award goes to the senior who has made the greatest contribution to the Writing Center and the writing program at Hiram College. Both exceptional service to the institution and an extraordinary personal commitment to the study of writing are required.

  • 2002-2003 recipients: Cari Baker, Susan Hutner, Jason Meek
  • 2003-2004 recipients: Alisha Heimbuch, Genevieve Jencson, Jessica Miele, Laura Ross, Nick Swetye
  • 2004-2005 recipients: Stephanie Boone, Matthew Evert, Elizabeth Wintour
  • 2005-2006 recipients: Daniel Brown, Jessica Graves, Jessica Hoptay, Victoria Ohlin
  • 2006-2007 recipients: Jessica Hammack, Lisa Roubic, Stephanie Sellinger, Michael Sliter
  • 2007-2008 recipients: Christine Cooper, Sherry Liu, Ashley Nuzzi, Abigail Palof
  • 2008-2009 recipients: Katey Lauer and Katie Hellner-Burris
  • 2009-2010 recipients: Brian Klinzing and Leah Rectanus
  • 2010-2011 recipients: Chelsea Barattini and Derek Green
  • 2011-2012 recipient: Rebecca Szanto
  • 2012-2013 recipients: Melissa DeWater and Michelle Allamon
  • 2013-2014 recipient: Will Applebee

Howard Seymour Bissell Scholarship Fund

Established and endowed by family and friends in honor of Howard Seymour Bissell, member of the Board of Trustees. A scholarship to be awarded each year to an outstanding Hiram student of English in recognition of excellence, based on merit, talent, achievement and promise.

  • 2002-2003 recipient: Genevieve Jencson
  • 2003-2004 recipient: Stephanie Boone
  • 2004-2005 recipient: Jessica Graves
  • 2005-2006 recipient: Jessica Hammack
  • 2006-2007 recipient: Ashley Nuzzi
  • 2007-2008 recipient: Dominique Blanc
  • 2008-2009 recipient: Jarrad Davis
  • 2009-2010 recipient: Karen Cover
  • 2010-2011 recipient: Francesca Luppino
  • 2011-2012 recipient: Caitlyn Caldwell
  • 2012-2013 recipient: Brendan Curtin
  • 2013-2014 recipient: Taylor Stott

John S. Kenyon Memorial Award in English

Awarded to honor the graduating senior student in English who best exemplifies the creative and scholarly spirit associated with John Samuel Kenyon, Class of 1898, Professor of English, 1916-1944, and Emeritus Professor of English, 1944-1959.

  • 2002-2003 recipients: Anne D'Angelo and Susan Hutner
  • 2003-2004 recipient: Kathryn Burke
  • 2004-2005 recipient: Stephanie Boone
  • 2005-2006 recipient: Jessica Graves
  • 2006-2007 recipient: Jessica Hammack
  • 2008-2008 recipient: Ashley Nuzzi
  • 2008-2009 recipient: Dominique Blanc
  • 2009-2010 recipient: Virginia Schminke
  • 2010-2011 recipient: Karen Cover
  • 2011-2012 recipients: Maryann Hudak and Francesca Luppino
  • 2012-2013 recipients: Caitlyn Caldwell and Joseph Randolph
  • 2014-2014 recipient: Devlin Geroski

Lee and Irma Cannon Memorial Award

Established and endowed by Mrs. Charity Cannon Willard, friends and faculties of the English and Foreign Language Departments, in memory of Lee and Irma Cannon, longtime and devoted members of the faculty. Awarded to an outstanding junior, alternating each year between a student from the English Department and the Foreign Language Department, nominated by faculty members of these respective departments.

  • 2002-2003 recipient: Kathryn Burke, English
  • 2004-2005 recipient: Daniel Brown, English
  • 2005-2006 recipient: Allison Welch, Spanish
  • 2006-2007 recipient: Brittany Stone, English
  • 2007-2008 recipient: Katie Dragga, French
  • 2008-2009 recipient: Virginia Schminke, English
  • 2009-2010 recipient: Nicole Foisy, French
  • 2010-2011 recipient: Maryann Hudak, English
  • 2011-2012 recipient: Kaylyn Gamertsfelder, Spanish
  • 2012-2013 recipient: Devlin Geroski, English
  • 2013-2014 recipient:

Richard C. Underwood Endowed Memorial Fund

Awarded each year to the student who, in the judgment of the English Department, is a promising candidate for a career in journalism.

  • 2002-2003 recipient: Jason Meek
  • 2003-2004 recipient: Abbey Kos
  • 2004-2005 recipient: Audrey Wagstaff
  • 2005-2006 recipient: Daniel Brown
  • 2006-2007 recipient: Eli Walker
  • 2007-2008 recipient: Rachel Wilkinson
  • 2008-2009 recipient: Bill Jordan
  • 2009-2010 recipient: Beau Bradley
  • 2010-2011 recipient: Alisa Manna
  • 2011-2012 recipients: Devlin Geroski and Matthew Margo
  • 2012-2013 recipient: Bonny Kessinger
  • 2013-2014 recipient: Mason Yeater

Grace J. Chamberlain Prize in Creative Writing

Established in 2007 by Joyce, Robert, and Dylan Chamberlain, the parents and brother of Grace J. Chamberlain, who died tragically in an automobile accident in 2006, this prize is awarded annually by the English Department to a student who shows great promise in creative writing. This prize is funded annually by a Cleveland Foundation Donor Advised Fund.

  • 2006-2007 recipient: Dominique Blanc
  • 2007-2008 recipient: Myles Wallace
  • 2008-2009 recipient: Sarah Pavolko
  • 2009-2010 recipient: Rachael Purta
  • 2010-2011 recipient: Brendan Curtin
  • 2011-2012 recipient: Nick Sawatsky
  • 2012-2013 recipient: Matthew Margo
  • 2013-2014 recipient: Tom Pantic

English Department Book Award

Awarded to a student who contributes to the intellectual life of the English Department in creative and often unrecognized ways.

  • 2002-2003 recipient: Gerard Nielsen
  • 2003-2004 recipient: Cody daMota
  • 2004-2005 recipient: Tammy McVay
  • 2005-2006 recipients: Amberly Hyden, Nicole Richmond, Ryan Seal, Karen Shrader
  • 2006-2007 recipients: Michael Gallagher, David Rogers
  • 2007-2008 recipients: Steve Franceschi, Brittany Stone
  • 2008-2009 recipients: Beau Bradley, John Hartzmark, Myles Wallace, and Kristen Weidus
  • 2010-2011 recipients: Ross Eaton, Joe Randolph, Alex Lavrisha, Diana Salman
  • 2011-2012 recipients: Will Applebee, John Price, and Molly Ackerman
  • 2012-2013 recipients: Elizabeth Haase and Kati Dlugosz
  • 2013-2014 recipients: Tristan Demaria, Robin Peshick, Erin Quandt, Maya Watkins
▲  Return to Top