Courses and Licensure Areas

Early Childhood

The early childhood license is valid for teaching grades pre-kindergarten through 3 (ages 3-8).  Students completing the early childhood license graduate with an Early Childhood Education major.

Early Childhood Licensure Course Requirements

Middle Childhood

The middle childhood license is valid for teaching grades 4 through 9 (ages 8-14). Students completing the middle childhood license graduate with an Integrated Middle Childhood Education major with specialization in two of the following areas of concentration:  reading and language arts, mathematics, science, and social studies.

Middle Childhood Licensure Course Requirements

Adolescence to Young Adult

The adolescence to young adult licenses are valid for teaching grades 7 through 12 (ages 12-21) in the curriculum areas named in such license.

Integrated Language Arts Integrated Mathematics Integrated Social Studies Life Sciences Life Sciences/Chemistry Physical Sciences: Chemistry and Physics

For detailed descriptions of the courses listed on the Licensure Requirement sheets, see the Course Catalog.

▲  Return to Top


Hiram College is accredited by the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. The Education Department at Hiram College is accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE).

Individual licensure programs are approved by the Ohio Board of Regents and nationally recognized by the following Specialized Professional Associations:

  • National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)
  • Association for Middle Level Education (AMLE)
  • National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)
  • National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS)
  • National Science Teachers Association (NSTA)