Honoring President Chema's Legacy:
President's Excellence Fund and Thomas V. Chema Assembly Room

On June 30, 2014, President Thomas V. Chema will retire from Hiram College. Under his guidance, the College experienced the following:

  • Increased enrollment
  • Stronger financial footing
  • Six new campus buildings
  • The addition of several new academic programs
  • The expansion of the James H. Barrow Field Station
  • The creation of eight Centers of Distinction
  • Numerous awards and accolades

The Hiram College Board of Trustees invites you to join them in honoring President Chema's decade of service and many achievements through your support of the Thomas V. Chema Assembly Room or, for those who prefer endowment, The President's Excellence Fund.

The Thomas V. Chema Assembly Room

In 2008, President Chema was instrumental in securing a grant from the state of Ohio that allowed for the removal, relocation, reconstruction and renovation of the former Mecca Community Church, now known as Koritansky Hall.

The Thomas V. Chema Assembly Room within Koritansky Hall provides classroom space for the political science department, meeting space for the Garfield Institute of Public Leadership and a gathering and event space for Hiram and the surrounding community. Your gift in honor of the Thomas V. Chema Assembly Room will help transform this space into a visual and lasting tribute to the legacy of President Chema and will help Hiram honor his passion for political science education and leadership for future generations of Hiram students.

The President's Excellence Fund

The President's Excellence Fund will honor the many contributions President Chema made to shape the office of the presidency at Hiram College for future Hiram leaders. Your gift in support of this endowed fund will enable future Hiram presidents to address priority needs of the College; invest in faculty and student scholarship; develop new ventures and innovation; purchase and update technology; and construct, repair and maintain physical facilities. Gifts to the President's Excellence Fund will provide the flexible resources a college president needs to address urgent needs on campus. Your support of this fund will directly impact Hiram College's educational excellence in perpetuity.

Join those who have supported this initiative.

Visionary ($10,000+)

Elvidio Bufalini 50

Carl Draucker and Claire Draucker 73/--

Leader ($5,000-$9,999)

Michael Newkirk and Olivia Garfield

Mark Logan and Anne Logan 60/--

Innovator ($2,500-$4,999)

Thomas Andrews 59

David Carr and Angela Carr 84/--

Martin Clague and Marilyn Clague 64/--

Curtiss Isler and Judith Isler

Tucker Ellis LLP

Anthony J Payiavlas and Tina Payiavlas

Richard Pejeau and Susan (Brethauer) Pejeau 66/66

Partner ($1,000-$2,499)

Roger Baldwin and Margaret Baldwin 69/--

Patrick Callahan and Karen Kilbane

Michael R Canty

Martha (Harnar) Cargo 39

James F. Creagan and Gwyn Creagan

Martha Derthick 54

George Foote+ and Arlene Foote

Ty Freyvogel and Kathy Freyvogel

Paula Frohring and the Paul and Maxine Frohring Foundation, Inc.

R. Thomas Green, Jr. and Gretchen Green

Geofrey Greenleaf and Helen Greenleaf

Donald W. Kaatz and Linda Kaatz 74/--

John Lauder and Susan Lauder 68/--

Frederick Martin 64

Todd Morris and Faith (Kelker) Morris 62/64

Michael Myers and Debbi Myers 83/--

G. Benjamin (President Emeritus) Oliver and Paula Oliver

Kenneth Pike and Damaris Peters Pike

Bruce Shylo and Karen Shylo 71/--

Charles Sweeney and Dianne Sweeney 69/--

John Vlad and Mary Alice (Roberts) Vlad 56/56

John and Sylvia Yankey

Davis Young and Karen Young

Friend (up to $999)

Harry Adams and Sally Adams 57/--

David A. Allen, Jr.

Anonymous (4)

Lorna (Brininger) Baker and Robert Baker 64/--

Judy Kay (White) Bard 65

Paul Barton and Carole Willett-Barton 53/--

Donald Batisky 83

David Bell and Alice (Lane) Bell 54/53

Louis Bertrand and Sharon Bertrand

A. Houston Bowers and Mary Bowers

Richard Brockett and Mary Ann Brockett

Sheryl Buckley 68

Frederick Crouter and Louise (Patterson) Crouter 54/52

Andrew Currie, Jr. and Ames Sheldon 61/--

Joseph Denham and Viola Denham

Bruce Dentler and Letitia (Stewart) Dentler 69/69

Emily Drake

Sarah (Owen) Duncan and Norman Duncan 49/--

Nancy (Ziel) Curtis-Einheit and Herb Einheit 57/--

Ethan Evans and Nancy Evans 68/--

Christopher M. Faiver, PhD 69

Tonia (Bell) Ferrell and Daniel Ferrell 97/--

Ruth (Lemmon) Fletcher-Ferrill 56

Richard C Foote and Judy Foote

George Gessner 66

Stephen Glaze and Roberta Glaze 63/--

Charles Graham and Debra Wallace

Michael Greenwood and Susan Greenwood

Robert Gross and Gretchen Gross

Ankur Gupta and Rakhi Gupta 02/--

Peter Hackman 75

Harper & Co Communications

Rudolf Hinderegger and Jeanne Hinderegger

William Horning and Katherine (Jewett) Horning 55/56

Jennifer (Guilbert) Humiston and David Humiston 64/--

Jacqueline (Larsen) Krabill 51

Martin Kohn and Marcia Silver

Mike Koval

Karl Livengood and Betsy Livengood 61/--

Vivian Makosky and Donald Makosky

John D Marinaro

Donald Marshall and Michael Marx 62/--

Philip Maynard

Garth McAdoo+ and Barbara (Brigham) McAdoo 54/55

Frank Merritt 65

P.C. "Chuck" Miller and Judith Miller

Margaret Mitchell and Frank Ribeiro 80/--

Michael Mooney and Barbara Mooney 68/--

Kenneth Nesper and Christine Matthews 71/--

Raymond Jason and Linda Noelker

Donald Nunnelly and Lillian Nunnelly 51/--

Andrew Oldman and S. Madeleine Oldman

Anne (Linton) Pennock 53

Mary Ann (Gander) Perry and Clifford Perry 60/--

Richard Powers and Christine Powers

W. Robert Price and Sandra (Pugh) Price 83/84

Susan Pritchard Pilbeam and Robert Wazgar 67/--

Edward Reed and Jan (Case) Reed 53/56

Joseph Reed and Marilyn Reed

Molly Rinehart

Robert Roy and Betty Roy 47/--

Henry Schellenger and Julie Schellenger 80/--

Thomas Schorgl and Elizabeth Schorgl

Timothy C. Smith and Carol Smith

Joe Stamm and Leslie Stamm 68/--

Michael Sterzer 73

Harry Stiggers 53

Andrew Stofan and Barbara (Bedell) Stofan 57/57

Liselotte (Filippi) Tan and Eng Tan 64/--

Karen Wax 70

Chad Webb and Jennifer (Klouda) Webb 95/95

Steven West and Pamela (Enos) West 67/67

Paul Whitacre and Pamela Whitacre 78/--

Homer Willard and Virginia Willard 53/--

Ann Williams 62

▲  Return to Top

Make a Gift

Your gift to the Thomas V. Chema Assembly Room or the President's Excellence Fund will honor the legacy of Thomas V. Chema's service as Hiram College's 21st president. 

The following giving levels reflect the various qualities we admire in President Chema:

  • Visionary: $10,000 and above
  • Leader: $5,000-$9,999
  • Innovator: $2,500-$4,999
  • Partner: $1,000-$2,499
  • Friend: Up to $999

For information on additional giving opportunities, please contact Jennifer Schuller at 330-569-5839 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..